Street flowers at the solstice

I’ve been out looking for street plants to post for the Loose and Leafy street plant collection.  A little wander round the streets near my house produced this magnificent ornamental grass growing in the roadside:

DSCN4610
‘Street’ grass 21 December 2014

Then I found these campanula growing on a wall beside the pavement:

Campanula 21 December 2014
Campanula 21 December 2014

.. and these little flowers – not sure what they are, growing in the wall of our local primary school:

School flowers, 21 December 2014
School flowers, 21 December 2014

Then I thought I would see what was growing in the paving in my front garden. I found this little wallflower coming up beside a pot:

Wallflower in the paving
Wallflower in the paving

.. and finally, a yellow poppy in full bloom, competing with the moss:

Poppy, 21 December 2014
Poppy, 21 December 2014

Now it’s beginning to get dark at 3pm. Happy solstice!

Leave a Reply

