A bouquet of daffodils

I needed a bouquet of flowers for a recent family occasion. You can buy cut flowers in the shops. I didn’t check the labels, but, given the current cold weather, roses and lillies must have been imported from somewhere which can’t be good for the environment. So I was looking for something a little more local and hoped I would find some daffodils. I was in a bit of a hurry and all I could find was little pots of daffodil bulbs. I planted these up in silver bucket that I had found in a charity shop. They weren’t quite flowering in time but they are today. So, to my assistant gardener (you know who and why), well done – and here are your flowers!

daffodils

2 thoughts on “A bouquet of daffodils

  1. At a pinch, roses could be local – mine have flowered overwinter – but there’s not much in the way of sustainable cut flowers, I’d have thought, right now.

    The daffodils look most cheering, by the way!

    1. Thanks Helen. Actually I don’t often buy cut flowers at all but when I do I like to try and keep in season and sometimes pots of things are better as they’ll last for years.

Leave a Reply

