Apple and mincemeat cake

I had a sudden baking urge this evening, brought on by finding three remaining apples from the lovely pile that I harvested in November and realising that they needed to be used fairly soon.apples Something quick and easy was in order so I started stewing a couple up to make apple gingerbread.  Half way through this process I was reminded that we still had a jar of mincemeat in the fridge, left over from Christmas – ‘I thought you were going to make a mincemeat cake.  That mincemeat won’t last much longer’.  Oh well I suppose I could make the mincemeat cake – a recipe my mother used to make for those times when you can’t eat another mince pie* or when it is the 28th of January and mince pies are distinctly unseasonal. We could always have the apples another time, so I switched recipes midstream and started on the mincemeat cake. It needed two eggs – oops we only had one.  At this point I decided just to combine the two recipes and make an apple and mincemeat gingerbread (without the ginger).  So here is the make-it-up-as-you-go-along recipe:

Apple and Mincemeat Cake

  • 150g butter
  • 150g sugar
  • 2 eggs (or only one if you’ve run out!)
  • 225 g self-raising flour
  • 225 g mincemeat
  • 225 g stewed apple
  1. Beat together butter and sugar
  2. Add beaten egg(s)
  3. Mix in flour, mincemeat and stewed apple
  4. Pour into two loaf tins and bake at 160 degrees for about an hour

Mincemeat and apple gingerbreadThey look ok?  Now off to see what they taste like.

The weather forecast is for gales and snow over the weekend so doubt I’ll get much gardening done.

*I should add that we love mince pies and we particularly loved the homemade mincemeat that my sister brought at Christmas – it’s just that we had a little bit too much this time.

3 thoughts on “Apple and mincemeat cake

Leave a Reply

