Broad bean guacamole

Broad beans are great but this year there are just a little too many all coming at once. So I raided the various ‘how to use up your garden vegetables’ cookery books on the shelf and found ‘broad bean guacamole’. I have to say it is one of those recipes that just doesn’t convince. A bit like green tomato marmalade (which is great) and green tomato mincemeat (which was not a success in this house) or ‘Mock chrystalised ginger’, made from marrows (which I’ve yet to try – I’ll let you know).  Anyway I love avocados and found it really hard to believe that an exotic luxury like that could be replaced by a humble broad bean. But it can – here’s how:

Broad Bean Guacamole

  • Handful or two of broad beans (the recipe said 1lb but you don’t need as much as that)
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic – chopped
  • 1 small onion – chopped
  • a dash of olive oil
  • a dash of lemon juice
  • teaspoonful or so of cumin
  • a bit of chilli (if required)

Cook the broad beans in boiling water for about 10 minutes
Put everything in a small bowl and whizz it up using an electric whizzer

.. and you won’t have to worry about buying avocados (currently being shipped from South America to my local supermarket which seems to be taking it literally too far) ever again. There were no air miles at all in the half dozen yards from the raised bed in the front garden to the kitchen. The only trouble now is that the broad bean mountain is now not big enough to see me through the rest of the year.  Better get planning next year’s crop.

Sorry no photos – it got scoffed in one sitting – so here is a rainbow salad instead.

WP_20160716_004Nasturtium flower salad is another unconvincing sounding but utterly lovely thing at this time of year.

9 thoughts on “Broad bean guacamole

  1. Thank you! I came home with a huge bag of them last night and there is no room in the freezer. Guacamole and felafel-making today. 🙂

  2. Sounds lovely 🙂 We’ve just polished off the last of our broad beans so I’ll put this on the list for next year.

  3. I love guacamole so broadbeans to replace the avocado sounds brilliant. Pity I didn’t grow any this year but I’ve ordered some for next year. Can’t wait!

    And I really like green tomato marmalade – yes, it does sound unconvincing, so that was indeed a pleasant surprise… As were nasturtium flowers.

  4. Oh this is JUST what I needed to find today! I have a large colander full of broad beans, too tough to just eat as they are, but too good to waste. We’re going to have a big pot of bean ‘guacamole’ – enough for lots to go in the freezer I suspect. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

