Autumn leaves

Another weekend away, celebrating birthdays. Because we’d missed the pumpkins and moved into bonfire night, I made a bonfire cake:

wp_20161104_006-1

The cake was one of my standard apple cakes, using garden apples. I acquired the leaf cutter tool recently and have promised leaves on every cake from now on.  We saw some lovely leaves in the trees too:

wp_20161105_002

And the moon:

wp_20161105_003

And my very grown up assistant gardeners stole my phone and took this pleasing photo in a cafe:

wp_20161105_13_27_45_pro

I just noticed it just now. It could be a lot worse, I suppose.

The weekend has given us everything autumn could offer: pouring rain, bracing cold, bonfires and fireworks, some good family company and the promise of ice tomorrow night. I need to get back into my own garden and rescue anything that might suffer from the cold.

5 thoughts on “Autumn leaves

Leave a Reply

