February plans

This weekend was going to be the big getting the garden going weekend but, what with one thing and another, I never got round to it.

I did a quick survey of what was blooming this happy February weekend and found lots and lots of snowdrops, daffodils almost beginning to flower, the hellebore in full bloom

wp_20170218_11_01_15_pro

and gladdening the heart of the vegetable gardener, chives and mint appearing in the herb pots.

 

But the only actual gardening I did was to get my seed order off.

Seed box

I had quite a lot of seeds left over in my seed tin from last year, but there’s always room for more: including the fabulous crystal lemon cucumbers and some red flowered broad beans:

I saw these red flowered broad beans in the Botanic Gardens in the summer so couldn’t resist getting some of my own. It’s still a little early for actual seed sowing but I’ve got a few sweet peas in pots in the house and some broad beans in pots in the seed house and soon everything will be getting going again at last.

2 thoughts on “February plans

  1. I always find starting each year the most difficult. Procrastination is my middle name….apart from this year as I’ve managed to start everything to plan 🙂 Even without starting it’s nice that you can walk around enjoying what is there already.

Leave a Reply

