Green shoots

I’m in my mother’s garden again.  It seems that spring has arrived.

But the thing that pleased me most was in my own garden yesterday.  The clematis alpina ‘Pamela Jackman’ is almost in flower.

WP_20170323_09_24_46_Pro

This has a lovely purple flower that appears just when you need it in the spring. I grow it in my mother’s honour (she is another Pamela) and have been trying, and mostly failing,to take cuttings for years.   Yesterday I had a quick peek in my seed house to see if the broad beans and sweet peas had survived the frost – they had – and look what had burst into leaf:

WP_20170323_09_24_07_Pro

A little clematis cutting. A sign of hope that my mother will able to have her very own Pamela clematis to share the spring along with all the daffodils and that she will be well enough to enjoy it.

 

2 thoughts on “Green shoots

Leave a Reply

