Seasons of mist etc

Autumn has really arrived. There was a big blue splotch on the Met Office weather map which was firmly placed over central Scotland and it didn’t disappoint. The result was very wet and also suddenly quite cold – I had to get my bed socks and hot water bottles out for the first time last night. Anyway, in the garden, this wetness, preceded by some heat, is producing a humungous tomato and apple crop. I am a little excited, I must confess, at this season of mellow fruitfulness, even if we have the mist as well. (thanks Keats for the one poem that seems to have stuck with me). Here is my collection for six on Saturday : autumn raspberries and and couple of windfall Sunset apples for breakfast, damp but ripening enormous San Marzano tomatoes, the Sunset apple tree, positively groaning with fruit, a single but precious Christmas Pippin on the newly planted apple tree, Red Falstaffs looking good but waiting to fully redden up and, last but not least, the wondrous Howgate Wonder, which has about 50 fruit on it this year, all as big as grapefruits.

We’re enjoying the tomatoes, harvesting a few at a time and anticipating a big glut of them soon. I’m being very patient with the apples, only using windfalls just now but there were enough to make a classic chocolate apple cake last night – it was so cold in the house that I thought that putting the oven on for a bit might help. It did and so did the cake – sorry no photos but recipe and previous versions are available here

This morning there was a tiny hint of warmth in the air after yesterday’s deluge so I dashed into the garden and sowed a whole lot of winter lettuce. If it survives the slugs there may be a few left in the spring. I also sowed the last of the pea shoots which I experimented with last year. They have been a huge disappointment, mainly being hogged by slugs I think but nothing like as successful as actual peas. So I just threw the last of the packet about hoping that something might come up. While down on my hands and knees I spotted some of the summer lettuces, bolting cheerily among the cucumbers so I picked them quickly, gave them a thorough wash – they were infested with snails – and threw them in a pan with some onions, and a bit of watercress to make a classic green soup. Whizzed it up with the hand whisk and added runner beans and tarragon. I wasn’t at all sure about it but it turned out to be rather good. I think it is the runner or broad beans and tarragon that are essential to green soup, however unpromising the bolted lettuce or other ingredients – more information here

So what with cake and soup (and hot water bottles) we have all warmed up a bit. The rain has stopped (for the moment) and the sun is trying to shine. Crossing fingers that it stays like this for another day so that we don’t get drowned out at the allotment show tomorrow. I’ll be along in the morning to polish my veg and hope for one or two prizes. Look out for updates here.

2 thoughts on “Seasons of mist etc

Leave a comment