Christmas dinner and a Boxing Day Treat

wp_20161225_15_38_04_pro

There were no garden sprouts for Christmas dinner this year. I’m not sure why. I think I forgot to grow any.  Never mind though.  We had the appropriately named broccoli ‘Rudolph’ instead.  This broccoli has been magnificent this year, especially in the late November frost. wp_20161205_001

I didn’t realise it would be so productive in December.  I suppose the clue is in the name.

And for Boxing Day, we had this:

pheasant

We didn’t eat it.  But this glorious beast wandered into our garden on Boxing Day morning.  I’ve no idea where it came from, or where it went.  Pheasants don’t usually wander around urban gardens.  There were lots of jokes.  ‘You should have shot it and had it for dinner’  ‘Maybe it escaped from someone’s dinner table’ .    Maybe it was after the broccoli.  To be honest, I wouldn’t mind if it was.  It would have been worth it. Oh, and I didn’t manage to get a photograph, so you’ll have to make do with the drawing and believe that it was true.  I do have witnesses.  I don’t suppose it will come back but what a lovely treat it was to see.

Leave a Reply

